The Odd Angry Twat

3 Nov

After all this time as a Twitter supporter, a campaigner even, only today have I started to realise its genuine power.

First I need to walk you through today’s events so you can appreciate my pain…no other reason, I just want you all (all 4 readers of my blog) to suffer too.

My wife had to scoot OS at very short notice and didn’t have time to enable the global roaming feature on her phone.  She manages to send me a hasty email asking me to call a certain Telecommunication’s organisation (let’s refer to them as NMOO – ‘No, Maybe, Oh OK’) and try to have the feature enabled.  And try I bloody well did, it was just a pity the two NMOO call centre Twats (hey we’re talking about Twitter here, the word twat is relevant) didn’t try very hard at all.  I’m still mighty pissed at ‘Ms Thisis Howittiz’ and ‘Mr Nevawood Athordadat’.

Ms Thisis Howittiz made it extremely clear that she couldn’t (read ‘wouldn’t’) assist if I didn’t have the relevant PIN code to access the account.  This I totally understand for you’d expect a certain element of security, however to advise me that there were absolutely no other options was total and utter bullshit.  Still, I played the game and in between tweeting my dissatisfaction with NMOO customer service I emailed my wife asking for the PIN but, as expected, she was uncontactable.

Enter Mr Nevawood Athordadat.  I went through the same process and started to wonder whether Mr Nevawood was actually Ms Thisis putting on a different voice.  It was when I said “why don’t you just enable global roaming temporarily, call my wife, and ask her to authorize it over the phone?” that I knew I had a different robot.  After a few more minutes of listening to me whine like an old Hills Hoist in the wind, Mr Nevawood puts me on hold for five minutes and chats to his manager.  He returns with, well, I’m not sure what he returned with to be honest.  Something about liability and covering costs during the four hour period it takes to enable the service without the account owner’s request.  After listening to Nevawood for a few minutes, and still failing to ascertain whether I actually had an option here I muttered a few ugly words and hung up….really pissed off.  If he was actually offering me a solution, he couldn’t tell me how to go about it.

With steam pouring from my ears and fingers poised to write a scathing tweet, I noticed NMOO had responded to my earlier tweet.  Here we go again I thought, my third contact with the enemy today, but at least this was a one minute effort in the form of a return tweet, rather than another frustrating 20 minute phone call.  To cut a long story short (and to enable me to focus on the negatives and whine a little more) NMOO via Twitter found the obvious and straight forward solution immediately.  Sure I did spend another half hour on the phone but it was all 100% positive, and the feature was enabled within the hour (not four hours Nev, just one!).  I was speaking with someone who possessed intelligence, someone who actually took an interest in helping the customer – how’s that for novel idea for a help desk! So full credit and genuine thanks to ‘NMOO Support via Twitter’.

What was the point of this blog again? Oh that’s right, the power of Twitter.  Consider the actual audience that my two or three tweets potentially reached today.  I have 250 odd Twitter followers, and each tweet automatically updates my Facebook status, another 400 odd friends.  I have other social networks that also take my Tweets as status updates and though the friend count is fewer by a great margin, the audience is an exclusively different crowd.  It’s possible that 700+ people followed my NMOO saga today, not to mention those who managed to pickup my tweets via the relevant search functions of each of these social platforms

Imagine if NMOO didn’t respond to any of my ‘Odd angry twat’s’ today?   The potential bad press it could have generated forced their hand.  To protect the company’s reputation they were basically forced to respond publicly via Twitter in a timely manner to prevent the issue from spiraling out of control.

So, the lesson here?  For me, I learnt to sook, to sook loud, and to sook publicly.  Now, back to advise my Facebook and Twitter friends of the outcome to the NMOO saga.

Leave a Reply

